3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thinking about trying Douglas Fir/ Pics Added  (Read 400 times)

Online R. Combs

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Thinking about trying Douglas Fir/ Pics Added
« on: March 11, 2010, 08:19:00 PM »
I have been using Sitka Spruce shafts for about 5 years now. I like the strength of the shaft as they don't break as easily as cedar arrows that I used to make do to there long fibers. Being able to get them in a wide variety of grains per spine group is also a bonus. Another thing that I like about the shafts is that the Neil Hilebrand has all but eliminated any rift in the shaft so you really don't have to worry about fletching them for a right or left hand shooter. I know some people don't think that you need to align them like that, but I have every since I had one break and almost stick in the back of my hand because the rift was aligned in the wrong direction. The only down side to them is how long it takes me to straighten them. Usually longer then the rest of the arrow making process combined.
  So I guess with all these benefits the only reason that I am thinking of trying Douglas Fir is because I keep reading about how straight there are. I know that I have read that they are also a tough shaft. Can you get them in a variety of grains per spine group?
  Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks, Rick

Offline vtmtnman

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Thinking about trying Douglas Fir/ Pics Added
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2010, 08:28:00 PM »
You can from what I've read on the site.I'm sure if you give them a ring or send and email they will tell you.

I got some 75-80's from them and was very pleased with straightness.Cannot go wrong with surewoods!
>>>>--TGMM family of the bow--->