3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: scouting big woods.  (Read 298 times)

Offline MAGICMAN

• Trad Bowhunter
scouting big woods.
« on: March 22, 2010, 02:26:00 PM »
How do yall go about scouting/patterning whitetail in big parcels of woods? Im new to hunting big timber & find it to be kicking my butt! I cut my teeth hunting whitetails in farmland (open fields & timbered creeks). I moved & i am having quite the dry spell. I've heard all the talk about terrain & acorns but things change so much year to year depending on the acorn crop. someone has to have a secret/suggestion that might help unravel the mystery.Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
Judge not less thee be judged yourself.

Offline dirtguy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: scouting big woods.
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2010, 02:48:00 PM »
First, get a map.  Here in CT, the DEP has a website with air photos covering the whole state, and you can print high quality pics of the area you hunt.  You can see ponds, streams, wetlands, stonewalls, atv trails etc.

Second, pound the ground.  Think about getting a GPS so you can track where you've been and record way-points for important things like trails, rubs, beds, etc.  When you start plotting the points, things start to fall together.

Third - spend some time in the wetlands and streams, especially in dense vegetation.

Oh yeah - and accept the fact that it just takes time to figure out a new spot - unless there is somebody local that can help you out, or you find some old tree stands that look like they were around for a while.

Online lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2010, 02:52:00 PM »
As dirtguy said and look for funnels,access to food area(fields),and my favorite swamps.