3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My box call sounds like crap!  (Read 1173 times)

Offline razorsharptokill

• Trad Bowhunter
My box call sounds like crap!
« on: April 25, 2007, 10:45:00 PM »
It's a M.A.D. Cherry bomb. When I bought it I thought it sounded ok. I'm a novice at this.

I went hunting for the first time the other day and it was almost impossible to get anything close to a turkey sound out of it. It squeaks some thing terrible! Later I tried sanding the lid and applying more chalk and it got better but it still throws a shrill note fairly often. Any ideas?
Jim Richards
Veteran

USMC 84-88
Oklahoma Army National Guard 88-89
USMCR 89-96 Desert Storm
Oklahoma Air National Guard 2002- present. Operation Iraqi Freedom 2005(Qatar) and 2007(Iraq),
Operation New Dawn Iraq 2011,
Operation Enduring Freedom 2018 Afghanistan.
NRA Life Member.

Offline dorris

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: My box call sounds like crap!
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2007, 10:48:00 PM »
sounds like its got a crack
" If I fail trying my hardest did I really fail ? "

Jeff Dorris
11/16/1970 ~ 3/30/2010
Rest In Peace

Offline thp

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2007, 11:03:00 PM »
Razor,

The expensive option is to go get another box call. There's lots of them out there.

You might try a slate call.  I tried one of the Hunter Specialty slates for the first time this year.  With a little practice I was able to make very convincing yelps and clucks.  With a little more practice I'm sure I could do a convincing purr.
Be kind and merciful. Let no one ever come to you without coming away better and happier. -Mother Teresa

Offline razorsharptokill

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2007, 11:22:00 PM »