3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: skinny carbons  (Read 308 times)

Offline 3Feathers

• Trad Bowhunter
skinny carbons
« on: April 02, 2010, 05:02:00 PM »
Who shoots the skinny carbons????? do they really make a difference???I know if the arrow is put in the write spot any one is good.But do skinny arrows give you a little edge????
HH Cheetah 66in. 48lb at 25in.
HH HalfBreed 66in. 57lb. at 27in.
HH Wesley Special  56lb. at 26in..
HH Big 5          64lb. at 28in.
HH Wesley Special 55lb. at 28in.
HH Redman         60lb. at 28in.
Simmmons sharks
2016 Legacys

Offline ALDO

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: skinny carbons
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2010, 06:15:00 PM »
I would like to think so.  I have been shooting the Axis shafts for at least 3 years.  They are durable and I do get pass throughs on a good majority of my shots.  
ALDO
"One does not hunt in order to kill; on the contrary, one kills in order to have hunted."
     Jose Ortega y Gasset

Offline Ragnarok Forge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2010, 06:22:00 PM »
Skinny shaft = better penetration than thick shaft.  It is a simple matter of friction.  Lower surface area of the shaft = lower friction coefficient acting against the flesh or bone of the animal.  

Huge difference?  Read the Ashby Reports he covered the percentages of improvements with skinny shafts very thoroughly.  There is an improvement in penetration of everything else the same arrows with one having a skinnier shaft.
Clay Walker
Skill is not born into anyone.  It is earned thru hard work and perseverance.

Offline Muleyslayer

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2010, 06:32:00 PM »