3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 2Blade is frustrated with 3 blade  (Read 459 times)

Offline 2Blade

• Trad Bowhunter
2Blade is frustrated with 3 blade
« on: April 07, 2010, 08:27:00 PM »
Took the plunge and bought some 125gr Snuffers. Read on what I should need so I got a 6" Bastard file from 3Rivers Archery since this is what Magnus said to use, im wondering if I should have went with the 12". I watched Dale Karch shapen a Woodsman online so I figured I could do the Snuffer. No luck but this is my first time at trying to sharpen a head. Could some of you more experenced guys give me some techniques? I just hope I didnt ruin a broadhead!!   :knothead:   In a pinch I could have my Uncle go at with a stone but id like to learn to do it myself. Thanks guys
The Stuttering Bowhunter

Online lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: 2Blade is frustrated with 3 blade
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2010, 08:35:00 PM »
Go to the How to section on the tradgang.com link above in there Charlie Lamb does a good demo on sharpening broadheads.
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a
difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
—President Ronald Reagan

Offline Ground Hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2010, 08:38:00 PM »
Real easy to put too much pressure on the file.  Mark the blades with a sharpie so you can see what you are really doing.  H

Offline sagebrush

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2010, 08:55:00 PM »
Once you get the basic bevel on the blade (use a marker like Ground Hunter says) start getting lighter and lighter with the stokes. When you finish you should barely be touching the heads. Gary

Online rastaman

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter