3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Philosophical pondering and such...  (Read 466 times)

Offline Bowspirit

• Trad Bowhunter
Philosophical pondering and such...
« on: April 10, 2010, 08:26:00 PM »
Forgive me, guys. Been down South with family and had some time to ponder here and there. Now, this is in no way a "this vs. that" thread. It's not a bashing of them, either; heck, it's not anything, really. Just the product of a cool breeze and some sweet tea, brought to light and meant to be enjoyed by men and women who share my same passions.
 I've been shooting traditional tackle for 8 or 9 years, now. A blink of an eye compared to some of you. But it's given me a change to step back and smile at the evolution of my tackle and tactics.
 My arrows, for example, came to mind. In learning the ins and outs (still am) of shooting basics, I've gone through a few. I started with aluminum, and soon came to think you couldn't beat a white-fletched 2317 when it came to the perfect arrow.
 Slowly but surely, I began to peer over the edge in the direction of "demon" carbons. Beats me why I felt that way about them; I guess I thought them to be too light and better suited to targets. The first AXIS I bounced off a rock, unscathed by the act, soon changed my thoughts on that subject.
 So it was that the next few years became the carbon years. Aluminum was, after all, better suited for cans   :rolleyes:   . No, a heavy Rebel carbon shaft was all I'd ever need. 5 years into the sport and I'd discovered the best arrow around. Others could only hope to be so lucky. Again...   :rolleyes: