3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: THE NEW GUY  (Read 304 times)

Offline tbwill

• Trad Bowhunter
THE NEW GUY
« on: April 25, 2010, 11:18:00 AM »
hello all.
   I recently took a longbow making class with Tom Turgeon here in Ohio. It was a great class and I learned a great deal about traditional archery and the bow making process. He advised all of us to check out this site. That being said, I am completely new at all to traditional archery. I was hoping that I could get some advice from yall. What are some of the things that yall wish you knew when getting started. I have been shooting my bow at least an hour a day since I built it and I can already tell I have been getting better.  I’m just looking for tips and tricks that yall may know that could help me out. Everything from form all the way up to taking my first deer. Any advice will be greatly appreciated.
Also, I would advise everyone to check your  local Woodcraft stores and see if Tom Turgeon is coming. it’s a lot of fun to take his class and you end up with plenty of knowledge and a pretty sweet longbow. At least I did.

Offline joe ashton

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: THE NEW GUY
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2010, 11:25:00 AM »
Tyler.

Welcome to one great big camp fire..    :campfire:   You will find this place to be friendly and very helpful.

You've picked up a long bow,  your life is over as you knew it.
Joe
Joe Ashton,D.C.
 pronghorn long bow  54#
 black widow long bow 55#
 21 century long bow 55#
 big horn recurve  58#

Offline MercilessMing

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 11:29:00 AM »