3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I seem to attract the ladies!  (Read 475 times)

Offline 30coupe

• Trad Bowhunter
I seem to attract the ladies!
« on: April 30, 2007, 11:31:00 PM »
No, it isn't my good looks, cause I don't have any. The females I am talking about are turkeys. I haven't had any luck attracting a legal bird (in Iowa that is any bearded turkey in the springtime), but have had hens walk right in and purr at my decoys, scratch the ground, and feed all within 20 yards of my blind.

Obviously, my blind and decoys are working. My calling is good enough to bring in hens and keep them around, why do the toms and even the jakes resist? This is my first year of turkey hunting and it has been nothing but frustration so far.

Any secret advice? My cousin has been hunting with me, and though he has killed a number of birds in the past, he is having similar luck. He has seen toms, but they won't come closer than 65 yards. He just bought a Pretty Boy/Pretty Girl decoy set. They look great to me, but the turkeys seem less than impressed. I have a cheap hen and jake decoy set. I have moved away and looked back at them and it is scary how real they look. Why only hens? Arrgh!
Kanati 58" 44# @ 28" Green glass on a green riser
Bear Kodiak Magnum 52" 45# @ 28"
Bodnik Slick Stick longbow 58" 40# @ 28"
Bodnik Kiowa 52" 45# @ 28"
Kanati 58" 46# @ 28" R.I.P (2007-2015)
Self-made Silk backed Hickory Board bow 67" 49# @ 28"
Bear Black Bear 60" 45# @28"
NRA Life Member

Offline korn stalker

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: I seem to attract the ladies!
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2007, 12:53:00 PM »
Just keep hunt'in.... it'll happen....

Your doing everything right...

With turkeys it's all about being patient....