3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: DIY Moose?  (Read 382 times)

Offline Pete McMiller

• Trad Bowhunter
DIY Moose?
« on: April 29, 2010, 03:54:00 PM »
I've been doing DIY Elk for 15-16 years so I know what a DIY camp/hunt is all about.  What are my location options for a do-it-yourself Moose hunt without spending 10 years on a waiting list?  Are there any places left where I can get an OTC license and not need a guide?  Not that I am dead set against a guide or an outfitted camp but from my admittedly brief search it looks like the minimum I am going to spend is around $5K.
Pete
WTA
CTAS
PBS

Charter member - Ye Old F.A.R.T.S and Elkaholics Anonymous

MOLON LABE  [mo 'lon  la 've]

"That human optimism & goodness that we put our faith in, is in no more danger than the stars in the jaws of the clouds." ............Victor Hugo

Offline Txnrog

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: DIY Moose?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 04:05:00 PM »
I believe Ontario has some pretty reasonable options for semi-guided - basically established camp w/ a camp helper who can point you in the right direction. You could do that without much additional expense considering your proximity

Other than that, It's luck of the draw, or trying to do DIY in AK - which will probably run you in the $5K range once you factor in airfare, bush flights, and gear rental. . .

Offline vtmtnman

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 04:57:00 PM »
Northern Quebec is OTC...or so legend has it.

AK can't be DIY because non res have to be guided I believe.
>>>>--TGMM family of the bow--->

Offline Whip

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 05:03:00 PM »