3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Different strokes for different folks  (Read 173 times)

Offline huntin_sparty

• Trad Bowhunter
Different strokes for different folks
« on: June 04, 2010, 08:30:00 AM »
Its happened awhile ago but Ive been tied up trying to buy some acreage up north here.  Anyhow I had a brand new black widow that I just didnt like the feel of or shoot particularly consistent.  Anyhow from trying different bows Ive found I like the feel of a 1 piece recurve vs a 3 piece.  So I traded my Widow PSA for a Great Plains Swift 1 piece recurve plus some cash. I am a newbie to traditional and never heard of Great Plains.  Anyhow short story long I shoot the lights out of this thing compared to the widow!  Not a bash on Black Widow but its funny how how something probably psychological as 1 piece vs 3 piece or a different bow makes you shoot better when really there isnt much of a difference.  Anyone else have an experience like this?
More bows than I should have!
Michigan Traditional Bowhunters

Offline rastaman

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Different strokes for different folks
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2010, 08:35:00 AM »
Look at all the bows for sale in the Classified section.  In the search for the "Holy Grail" of which bow will be THE Magic bow, we buy (and then sell or trade) many bows in that search.  In my case, i found that it all comes down to the grip.  If i can grip it consistantly, i can shoot it consistantly.  
It sounds like your search didn't take quite as long, but then your journey may have just started.
Have fun!  :)
TGMM Family of the Bow

:archer:                                               

Randy Keene
"Life is precious and so are you."  Marley Keene

Offline Chris Surtees

• Trad Bowhunter