3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Hi! new member with some questions about bows/asiatic style.  (Read 462 times)

Offline kevshin21

• Trad Bowhunter
Hi guys! My name is Kevin and I am a newbie to archery. I only took one lesson from a archery pro shop and I fell in love with it. I have been looking around from shop to shop and I have found a bunch of recurves and compound bows but a few longbows and Asian bows are nonexistent. Why is that? I live in California if that helps any. Anyways my real question for you guys are how come Asian bows are not very popular? are they much harder to use? Are western bows more efficient and accurate than eastern style bows? I really want to get an Mongolian bow or some sort of long bow but don't really know which one is better (if there is anything as better).

Thanks guys!

Offline TheFatboy

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hi! new member with some questions about bows/asiatic style.
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2010, 03:02:00 AM »
Hi Kevin, welcome to the site   :archer:  

To answer your question... I believe the main reason would be, that horsebows are not as common as the average longbow or recurve. Here in Europe we've got mainly Grozer and Kassai, who craft and sell many Asiatic style recurves. In USA, I actually don't know of any bowyers who mainly craft and sell these bows. There are custom bowmakers like Lukas Novotny of the Saluki Bow Co., and James Parker of Hunt Worthy Productions, but these custom bows are more expensive and exclusive than what Grozer and Kassai can offer, not to mention the waiting time you have to endure to wait for these custom bows, so they aren't really accesible to everyone.