3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: turkeys. cant get em close. what do you think?  (Read 655 times)

Offline Tim Kosteczko

• Trad Bowhunter
turkeys. cant get em close. what do you think?
« on: May 07, 2007, 09:45:00 PM »
overall been having a good season so far, in birds almost everyday, but i cant get them to close from shotgun range to my bow range. I am pretty new at all this and just looking for outside opinions.

I get the birds to come in to about 20 yards and then they hold up nad just look at my decoys for what seems like forever and then simply turn and strut off in the other direction. the simply loose interest completely.
I have a feeding hen and alert Jake decoy out in front.
I think i keep the calling pretty consistant (as much as i can as they close in) to what i was doing to get them that close.
They dont pick anything up because not once did one bird spook and one time there was 7 at 20 yards all looking in.

what do you guys think change decoys? or what i am clueless i cant seem to close the deal

Offline adg120383

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: turkeys. cant get em close. what do you think?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2007, 09:49:00 PM »
how far are the decoys from u

Offline Tim Kosteczko

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2007, 09:51:00 PM »
6 yards

Offline ishiwannabe

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2007, 09:54:00 PM »
You could either bring the decoys in closer to you....or even try setting them up behind you.
If you hunt with a partner, switch off calling for eachother, and have the shooter up front 20-30 yards. Having the birds walk past you in either case. Good luck!
"I lost arrows and didnt even shoot at a rabbit" Charlie after the Island of Trees.
                         -Jamie

Offline BMOELLER