3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Vitamin C  (Read 502 times)

Offline sagebrush

• Trad Bowhunter
Vitamin C
« on: July 01, 2010, 07:52:00 PM »
I thought I would pass along something I learned a long time ago. I had heard that weight lifters used vitamin c to help with muscle soreness and to help rebuild after a workout. I also read in a Outdoor life where a bear hunter with dogs did a test. He ran one group of dogs with regular food and one group with food laced with vitamin c. The short story, after the third day the dogs on the regular diet were tired and weren't all that excited to participate in the chase. The others were raring to go. So, I started playing around with it. I was always going in the mountains and carrying heavy packs. Especially when hunting. So I started using Vitamin C. I found that if I took enough I wasn't stiff the next day no matter how hard I worked. I was tired but not stiff. So now when I load up the pack I take 1500 to 2500 mg. of Vitamin C. After about two to three hours I do it again. I keep doing this during that day and then when I go to bed I take it again. It has worked wonders for me. The reason you have to keep taking it all day is that if you are drinking enough water then your body will regularly expel it. In my pack I carry Ibuprofen and Vitamin C.

P.S. I'm fifty-five and it worked a little better when I was younger. But so did every thing else. Gary

Offline PrarrieDog

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Vitamin C
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2010, 08:12:00 PM »
Vit-C does good things for you short term but
long term, high dosage is harmfull. Kidneys or liver, I don't remember. Maybe on of the Docs could enlighten us.
Prarrie Dog

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2010, 08:17:00 PM »