3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A Wheelie Guy Told Me He Could Shoot It In The Butt  (Read 631 times)

Offline gudspelr

• Trad Bowhunter
A Wheelie Guy Told Me He Could Shoot It In The Butt
« on: July 05, 2010, 11:16:00 PM »
I was talking to a wheelie guy I know who has the coolest, newest, fastest mechanical arrow launching device he could find.  He mentioned something about being able to shoot a deer or even an elk straight from behind (through the poop shoot), pass clean through, and get an efficiently killed animal.

This got me thinking...  Would any of you figure that'd be a good bet for hunting (let's keep it to deer and elk for the sake of this argument)?  Also made me wonder, since I'm still really new to all this, what about straight on shots.  Would you just aim into the chest and is that an ethical shot?  What about a bedded animal?  Would you give it a shot or wait until it stood up?  My first inclination is, probably not the best idea-poor angle and/or limited path to vitals.  Would a broadside bedded animal be an exception or would the shoulder pretty well cover it all up?

Looking forward to your thoughts and experiences.

Jeremy
"Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful, or believe to be beautiful."
- William Morris

Craftsmen strive to make their products both.

Offline Tsalagi

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: A Wheelie Guy Told Me He Could Shoot It In The Butt
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2010, 11:30:00 PM »
Next time you see him, ask him if him how much gutting he's actually done of animals and how much tolerance he has for eating fecal matter. This sounds like he's spinning a whopper.
Heads Carolina, Tails California...somewhere greener...somewhere warmer...or something soon to that effect...

Offline JEFF B