3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Is rangefinder a dirty word?  (Read 379 times)

Offline Joshua Lee

• Trad Bowhunter
Is rangefinder a dirty word?
« on: July 15, 2010, 03:40:00 PM »
This will be my first season hunting trad, so forgive me if rangefinder is a dirty word here.  I'm a decent judge of distance,, but I'm new to this and really don't want to wound an Elk because of my inexperience.  I'm pretty comfortable shooting out to 25yds but we all know how distance changes out in the field, and I'm worried that I might be off by 5-10 yards in my guessing and wound an animal.  I'm currently looking online but would rather purchase one on tradgang, and I noticed that there are not allowed to be sold.  Again, forgive me if this is the equivalent of soliciting a prostitute in church.. but for my first season I think I might need one,, a rangefinder not a prostitute    :)  
Give me your take, and if you know a good place to get one used and cheap (again, only rangefinders please).
Thanks
Josh
"Success is not final
Failure is not fatal
It is the courage to continue that counts"
Churchill

Offline bmb

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Is rangefinder a dirty word?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2010, 03:51:00 PM »
i use one alot. you never can be too prepared. i just have a simple bushnell yardage pro. but i had to buy mine at a local shop....dont think you'll see them on here. either way you are taking a good step in ensuring the most humane kill on the game your after.

Offline ChuckC

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2010, 03:52:00 PM »
yes. . .

OK just teasing