3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: ?'s bout elk before/after shot  (Read 555 times)

Offline mnbearbaiter

• Trad Bowhunter
?'s bout elk before/after shot
« on: July 26, 2010, 11:11:00 PM »
Im expecting to open a can of worms here, so here goes! When hunting elk, i understand that alot of you prefer the 2 blade heads over 3 or 4 blade heads, i realize this is based on the 2 bladers penetration qualities and im goin to jump on board for this season! Im new to elk hunting, but have chosen a Ace Express 165gr head for my elk hunting over the 160gr Snuffer i was goin to use originally! Im doin this for two reasons, but am a bit nervous about using a 2 blade head on an animal thats notorious for not being a very good bleeder anyway! Ive read many stories in Trad Bowhunter and other books on an elks' uncanny ability to almost quit bleeding even when hit good, as well as there being able to go miles with only a single functioning lung! Its a crapshoot in my mind because a better blood trail could almost certainly be attained with a multiple blade head, but then again it doesnt sound like it would amount to much if you only shutdown one lung! Any help or experiences to ease the uncertainty a bit would be greatly appreciated  :banghead:

Offline Goke

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: ?'s bout elk before/after shot
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2010, 11:32:00 PM »