3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A Ghillie suit primer...  (Read 397 times)

Offline Slasher

• Trad Bowhunter
A Ghillie suit primer...
« on: August 07, 2010, 12:09:00 AM »
There have been many questions on ghillie suits lately...

I AM NO EXPERT!!! However, I have been using a ghillie for about 5 years and have been abused by them in the military for another 10 years.... I just took what i learned and adapted to my passion, hunting whitetails!!!

They are hard for us to comprehend as we see the world very differently than most game animals... But ghillies work very well against the human eye as well... But can be DEADLY on game!!!

First of all ghillie suits work by using depth... Many military snipers shun black as black is the absence of light (a shadow if you will... Ghilles do not reflect and absorb most light...

These pics were posted a few weeks ago when one was asking about making a ghillie suit...

Ghillies can vary as much as bows, so I am not trying to be pinned down to hard fast rules but help understand what they can and CAN NOT do...

These pics were taken mid-day in mid-July in a suburban back yard at a range of 3-5 yards... By me and my 7 y.o. daughter....

Notice the biggest things noticed are the skin tones... face and hands.. IN the first pic the hands scream while the shaded ugly mugs is noticable but almost irrelevant... since the face and hands move the most while hunting... use gloves and a facemask of some sort(usually I use a turkey face mask_ a handkerchief with an elastic band basically..)