3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: F.O.C. / broadhead weight (moved)  (Read 685 times)

Offline trcytylr

• Trad Bowhunter
F.O.C. / broadhead weight (moved)
« on: August 15, 2010, 02:39:00 PM »
Had this on the shooter forum:

Can you guys explain to me the importance of heavy weight up front on an arrow.

I read alot of post about adding inserts and heavy broadheads. But seems to me that it would slow down the arrow and cause a good bit of drop in the arrow.

Thanks, I'm still learning!
Jordan Stalker 3pc Takedown 52@28 64"

Offline Earl Jeff

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: F.O.C. / broadhead weight (moved)
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2010, 02:49:00 PM »
To make it as simple as possible, tests have shown that a arrow will penetrates farther if it is pulled through its target rather than being pushed through. I beleive it has a lot to do with arrow (oscellation ?)when it contacts the target.

Offline Bill Carlsen

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2010, 03:28:00 PM »
Earl has got it. i have proven it to myself numerous times over the past six years or so. Fpr me, the arrow weight would be the same, 10 grains per pound of bow weight, more or less. A 600 grain arrow with 200 grains up front has significantly out penetrated similar 600 grain weight arrows I used to shoot from much heavier bows with only 125 grains up front.
The best things in life....aren't things!

Offline Earl Jeff

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2010, 03:33:00 PM »
Tracy if you want to make some EFOC arrows take a look a Victory Archery arrow HV-3 series they they are 300 to 400 spine and are all in the 6.4 to 6.7 gpi weight.

Offline JimB

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 15, 2010, 04:50:00 PM »