3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Still Hunting Public land SE Minn.  (Read 163 times)

Online Davt

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Still Hunting Public land SE Minn.
« on: August 18, 2010, 09:22:00 PM »
I am new to the SE Minnesota area, did the bulk of my bowhunting in Oregon. I enjoy still hunting, moving around a bit. I like to make a ground blind on occasion and have put up a tree stand or two but still hunting to me is the best. As I am new to the SE MN area and primarily hunt public land I want to be respectful of those who have put up tree stands and prefer to sit up in a tree. For those of you who hunt this area, how crowded is it? Any thoughts on areas where my type of hunting would be the best tolerated? Thanks for your input.
Dav

Offline Pete Arthur

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Still Hunting Public land SE Minn.
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2010, 09:52:00 PM »
I have a buddy who has land down in the far SE corner, but I haven't been able to hunt it.
I have fished it though, and from what I can tell, you should be able to hunt out of a ground blind as well down there as anywhere.
Strangely, I haven't seen many deer in my time fishing. I can't say why as the area does have a good population and my friend has taken deer with a shotgun.
I do intend to spend more time there as the country is beautiful!

Offline LITTLEBIGMAN

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2010, 10:00:00 PM »
Dav