3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: string ?'s  (Read 347 times)

Offline LinemanARK

• Trad Bowhunter
string ?'s
« on: August 22, 2010, 02:38:00 PM »
I am new to trad archery so any help would be great. What happens to a 45# bow if u put an inch shorter string on it will it hurt the bow and what affect will it have on the arrow?

Offline Mitch-In-NJ

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: string ?'s
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2010, 02:49:00 PM »
It won't hurt it.  It will effectively stiffen the spine of the arrow.  Shorter string = shorter power stroke.
"The encouragement of a proper hunting spirit, a proper love of sport, instead of being incompatible with a love of nature and wild things, offers the best guaranty for their preservation."

-- Theodore Roosevelt

Offline LinemanARK

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2010, 03:20:00 PM »
will it shoot any faster and can u help with power stroke what does that mean very new to trad. archery been shooting a compound for a long time but I would really like to understand trad. archery better thanks MIke

Offline Buckeye Trad Hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2010, 05:58:00 PM »
It will also make your brace height higher which could also make your bow louder.  You may not be able to tune your bow to it's "sweet spot".    

As for whether or not it would hurt the bow I'm not sure but I wouldn't think it would do any damage but it could be hard on your limb tips, some others will know better than I do on that.

I don't think it will make it noticably faster though.

Offline LinemanARK

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2010, 07:31:00 PM »