3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: runout question  (Read 204 times)

Offline Andy Cooper

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
runout question
« on: August 24, 2010, 08:41:00 PM »
I knocked together an arrow spinner today...something I've never used before. How much, if any, runout is acceptable before flight is affected?
:campfire:       TGMM Family of the Bow       :archer:      

My Father's bow rack is the sky.

Offline Grey Taylor

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: runout question
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2010, 08:51:00 PM »
It may be difficult to quantify.
I have a birch arrow that is so bent it looks as if it's pointed off to the side when it's at full draw. But that arrow is one of the most accurate arrows I've ever used.
When I straighten wood shafts I go for the least visible wobble I can possible get. What that reads on a dial indicator is anyone's guess.

Guy
Tie two birds together; though they have four wings, they can not fly.
The Blind Master

Offline Andy Cooper

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2010, 12:31:00 AM »
Then it seems rather a waste of time to straighten them and to tune the heads, doesn't it?

Offline Grey Taylor

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2010, 12:39:00 AM »
Absolutely not.
The birch arrow I have is an anomoly. I would never expect an arrow that bent to shoot well.
Straighten as much as you're comfortable with. If you have a dial indicator and feel the need to straighten to .007" runout, go for it.
All I'm trying to say is that a particular number may be hard to determine. The stuff we're using does not behave like a bench rest rifle.

Guy
Tie two birds together; though they have four wings, they can not fly.
The Blind Master

Offline Fletcher

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter