3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Multiple Broke Strings. Advise Needed  (Read 184 times)

Offline RecurveHunter01

• Trad Bowhunter
Multiple Broke Strings. Advise Needed
« on: August 24, 2010, 09:37:00 PM »
I am shooting a 1970, I think, 60" 55# Kodiak Hunter and I have broke either 3 or 4 strings at the top loop since I started shooting it a couple years ago.  This last one I bought less than a month and a half ago but I've been shooting a lot to get ready for deer season.  I have tried sanding the grooves down, and they look smooth.  I have a feeling that a lot of the wear comes from stringing and unstringing the bow, well mostly the stringing part.  The leather hood makes it difficult for me to slip the loop completely in the groove and sometimes I have to push it over after I relax the stringer, which must be hard on the string because of how it snaps over the lip under a lot of tension.  But it always breaks during shooting which is pretty alarming but the limbs still look straight to me and I am not bleeding anywhere so I think all is good.  Any ideas on how to prevent this?

I have read that some leave bows strung, does this really not wear the limbs out some?  and will it be bad in my no ac apartment in 90 degree weather, gotta save money to spend on archery    :p  I figure I can do this to try and cut down on the wear but I still think something is wrong.