3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: 1st Time Cedar Arrow builder has questions  (Read 534 times)

Offline SEMO_HUNTER

• Trad Bowhunter
1st Time Cedar Arrow builder has questions
« on: August 30, 2010, 06:02:00 PM »
Sorry if this is in the wrong place, but I didn't see a category for arrow building?

This is my first time spining, cresting, sealing, and fletching my own custom made cedar shafts.
I've built my own arrows for years using aluminum and carbon, but only dabbled in cresting, and never sealed or even fletched a wood arrow before.

My first one with a burgundy arrow wrap turned out fine because I could fletch right over the arrow wrap like I do on everything else, no brainer.
It wasn't until I decided to break out the cresting kit that I've had for probably 15 years and put it to good use.
Ok, so I spined, finish sanded, and stained my shafts and started cresting them.
I actually did a decent job with it if I do say so myself.

Now here's the problem......After my cresting had dried for over an hour and I could touch them without feeling any tackiness, I decide to go ahead and seal them with clear Polyurethane.
When I got to the crested part the colors started to run a little, so I made one real quick pass over them before they could run enough to ruin my cresting job.

Is there a certain type of paint and sealer combination that needs to be used so the colors don't run when sealed?
I know that all chemicals are not compatible with each other, but I used spray paint from a can sprayed into the cap to dip my brush in and I'm not sure what base they are made from, but evidently it's polyurethane based and they actually started to get wet again when I tried to seal them?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.