3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Difference in old bows by Fred Bear or Ben Pearson  (Read 234 times)

Offline jwbharper

• Trad Bowhunter
Difference in old bows by Fred Bear or Ben Pearson
« on: September 02, 2010, 02:38:00 PM »
Hey there, I am new to the sport of bow hunting and am looking to get an old/vintage bow since they are less expensive for my first bow.

My question is in regards to different models Bear produced.
What is the difference between a Kodiak, Grizzley, or the super magnums of these these models? Is it simply length or style preference? or is there more difference like arrow FPS, quality, or something else I haven't thought of?

What about the difference in the Ben Pearson models?
Thanks all!
John Harper

Offline Frisky

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Difference in old bows by Fred Bear or Ben Pearson
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 03:17:00 PM »
This is a loaded question and I'm no expert but will comment. Yes, there are differences between the Bear bows in length, materials and design. In general, they all shot well. A 60" Kodiak Hunter is an excellent bow for many. The Pearson bows are much the same. They shoot nicely but I'd avoid the take downs. One other bow you will want to consider is the Shakespeare Necedah. The 58" Necedah is one of the better shooting vintage bows and about the best deal.

Joe

Offline giff

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2010, 03:37:00 PM »
I just got a 62" Pearson cougar and I love it

Offline reddogge

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2010, 03:46:00 PM »