3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: How to Miss a Moose Part 1  (Read 1178 times)

Offline steadman

• Trad Bowhunter
How to Miss a Moose Part 1
« on: September 12, 2010, 10:20:00 AM »
I happened to draw a cow moose tag for the Uinta mountains here in UT. Now, I've never hunted moose and always thought it would never happen as a bull tag is a once-in-a-lifetime tag and a lot of people put in for it. However a cow tag is not, and so i started playing the game in hopes that the normal UT mentality of "if it doesn't have horns it's not worth shooting" would help me draw a tag. It must have worked!

So I started my scouting in early July, with a talk to the biologist and a drive to the unit, my hopes were high. In the two scouting trips I made, I did not see a single moose, and my hopes were not as high.

But the terrain just screamed moose and I kept a positive attitude.

" Just concentrate and don't freak out next time" my son Tyler(age 7) giving advise after watching me miss a big mulie.

Offline steadman

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: How to Miss a Moose Part 1
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2010, 10:26:00 AM »
This year had been an especially tough one. Both at home and hunting. But my wife always encourages me to be positive, and so do what the wife says. Right  :)  I have had no opportunities to even stalk a deer, or an elk this year. So I have really been looking forward to this hunt.

The hunt opened on Fri the 10th, so my Dad and I arrived Thurs morn and set up camp, and just in time.

The skies were threatening, and then the threat turned into reality and I saw my first snow of the year!

" Just concentrate and don't freak out next time" my son Tyler(age 7) giving advise after watching me miss a big mulie.

Offline Izzy

• Trad Bowhunter