3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Recurve or Longbow twisted limbs.  (Read 258 times)

Offline ncsaknech1ydh

• Trad Bowhunter
Recurve or Longbow twisted limbs.
« on: September 12, 2010, 03:01:00 PM »
I started shooting long bow limbs on my Lee risers this summer and absolutly love them. I don't even need silencers, although I have them on just because to me, after all these years a bow looks wierd without them!  

I bought a recurve awhile back and the first time I finished stringing it and was putting the rubber limb protectors on I had one end sitting on the ground like I have had  100s of times before, but this time the sting came slapping off to the side and suddenly the bow had unstrung itself, (I did, and always do use a bow stringer, and slowly flex each limb when I am done to make sure everything is in place) I have never had this happen one time in 35 years of stringing recurves, even using the step through method as I stupidly did many times many years ago before I new better. Needless to say I was sick about it, so I went out to shoot it, and no problem, it seemed to shoot like a dream. I have had it for about a month, and the other day unstung it to tighten the string a bit as it had stretched, and when I strung it, whamo, the same thing happened again. Now I am not sure if it was right away, but it is the only thing I can figure out because now all of the sudden I can't get the same arrow set up to fly straight out of it no matter what I try. I can't see a twisted limb so it would have to be slight, but I have a sneaking suspision that I have a twisted limb, what do you guys think?