3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Looking for dipping and cresting info  (Read 165 times)

Offline ABBIBOY

• Trad Bowhunter
Looking for dipping and cresting info
« on: September 13, 2010, 08:27:00 PM »
I am looking for some video clip tips on getting started in the art of arrow dipping and cresting. I am just starting out so anything would help if you guys know of any sites.
ty
GS

Offline Mike Vines

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Looking for dipping and cresting info
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 09:01:00 PM »
I have started spray painting my crowns, and the results are great.

Start by deciding where you want your crown to start, then wrap a piece of blue painter's tape at that point, then take a scrap piece of paper and wrap it around the part of the shaft you want to protect from overspray, then apply plenty of light coats.  You do not want to cover the shaft in one or two coats, instead use lots of light coats to avoid runs in the paint.

Make sure you DO NOT buy fast drying spray paint.  Go back and read that again.  If you buy fast drying spray paint, you will not be happy with the results.  If the paint dries to fast, it will not have time to flow together for a flawless finish.  I use the Rustolem paint that dries to the touch in 1-2 hours.  Wait a minimum of 24 hours untill you do anything else, and if the can says wait a few days to topcoat, then do so.  You are making funtional works of art here, there is no reason to rush it.

Once the paint is ready for a top coat, go ahead and do your first coat of clear, then wait a minimum of 24 hours again (are you seeing a pattern here?), then you are ready to start cresting.