3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: confused about efoc  (Read 253 times)

Offline stevewills

• Trad Bowhunter
confused about efoc
« on: September 14, 2010, 11:34:00 AM »
ok im going to try this just to see what happens..im going to try this with axis 400s cut to 30 at my 29 inch draw with 300 up front now im new to this so please explain what will happen here.will my arrows show weak if bareshafted.i mean i hear guys saying there shooting 35/55 out of a 55lbs.recurve with a hundred grain insert with a 150 grain head sounds like it would be weak to me.but im no expert just want to hear what you who use it do.oh by the way im pulling 59lbs with a bw pma2 62inch limbs if thatll help
i like biscuits

Offline chopx2

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: confused about efoc
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 11:43:00 AM »
300gr including insert? Probably will be weak, but the only way to know is to try. I believe you will likely have an easier time tuning the 340 spine carbon shafts at 300gr total weight or possibly even the 300spine on those skinny arrows. They make the arrow spine act weaker because they are closer to center shot.

Unfortunately there are so many variables there are no definites until you try.

If you have the room you can build out the side plate to make it act stiffer. Also you could try regular 5/16" shafts which will still give you the 5% diameter difference between BH ferrule (true for most glue ons with adapters whether factory or self installed) and shaft diameter that improves penetration based on the Ashby studies.
TGMM-Family of the Bow