3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bow Length Recommendation  (Read 368 times)

Offline Rebel Yelp

• Trad Bowhunter
Bow Length Recommendation
« on: September 13, 2010, 10:11:00 PM »
I'm new to traditional archery and need advice on selecting the right bow. I've made up my mind on a hybrid reflex/deflex longbow.

During deer season I mostly hunt ground blind and treestand with my wheel bow during the morning and evening. Sometimes I take a break to ground stalk and strech my legs during the day. A smaller bow would be beneficial but don't want to sacrifice much smoothness/foregiveness.

I have an old fiberglass long bow I kick around for fun at my local 3D archery range. It has stacks very hard at full draw however. I don't want to go too small and have this problem.

I've been tucking money away for a nice trad bow that will do it all.

My draw length is 28.5" -- what is my range in bow length on a reflex/deflex longbow?

:help:

Offline MikeM

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Bow Length Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 11:02:00 PM »
It really depends on the design. On a strait grip longbow I have a 29" draw. On hybrid bows I have tried - thunderhorn, great northern, navajo stick, morrison, black widow - I have found 62" as short as I would go for smoothness of draw and finger pinch.

Offline chopx2

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 11:20:00 PM »
Just because a bow is shorter doesn't mean it will stack more. That has to do with the limb and bow design. If you order a custom bow from any reputable custom bowyer stacking will not be an issue at your draw length as they will design the sweet spot to be around your draw length.