3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Arrow Help  (Read 277 times)

Offline Rebel Yelp

• Trad Bowhunter
Arrow Help
« on: September 18, 2010, 10:25:00 PM »
I'm new to traditional archery and have found there are far more things to take into consideration when selecting arrows.

I've done my homework and know the proper spine weight and arrow legnth to match my bow. However, I could use some help determining if I should go for carbon or trusty old wood arrows.  

What would you recommend to a beginner?

Offline S.C. Hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Arrow Help
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2010, 10:33:00 PM »
That is really personal preference. I would suggest you find a test kit for carbons and woods if possible shoot both and see which you prefer. I shoot both and like both.
USMC 82-86

Offline 4est trekker

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2010, 10:38:00 PM »
Welcome to traditional archery!  It's addicting, so be careful.  

You won't really know the "proper" arrow setup until you shoot it.  There's a lot of variables like fletch length/style, shaft length, FOC mass/tip weight, shelf construction, etc.  I agree with S.C. Hunter.  Get yourself some test kits to see if your findings are indeed accurate.  Test kits are comparatively cheap.  Best of luck, and again...welcome aboard.
"Walk softly...and carry a bent stick."

"And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ, giving thanks to God the Father through him."  Col. 3:17

Offline stevewills

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2010, 06:55:00 AM »