3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: first year hunting, What broad head to use!!!!  (Read 277 times)

Offline FoMoCo429

• Trad Bowhunter
first year hunting, What broad head to use!!!!
« on: September 21, 2010, 09:15:00 PM »
Its my first year hunting, was looking on what broad head to use. i have a 62" @ 60 recurve, Any suggestions?

Offline ron w

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: first year hunting, What broad head to use!!!!
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 09:30:00 PM »
Get a good popular brand,Magnus,Eclipse,Stos or Snuffer ,well you get the idea, and the get it as sharp as the devil. Make sure they fly good and you will be all set.
In the beginner's mind there are many possibilities. In the expert's there are few...So the most difficult thing is always to keep your beginner's mind...This is also the real secret of the arts: always be a beginner.  Shunryu Suzuki

Offline 2wfstlhunting

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 09:33:00 PM »
The basic major heads are all popular because they work.  I would strongly suggest that you try Zwickey  to start with, because they are a time honored classic and quite easy to sharpen. However a tougher head is the Magnus heads that I now shoot.  The Wensel Woodman is a dramatic cutter, but not as good a penetrator.  Don't spend more money than you absolutely have to.  If you look at the newer heads you will see what I mean.  Honestly, at 60# your bigger concern is shot placement and not the broadhead once you get a good one and get used to it.
Leon Stewart Deflex/Reflex Mahogany and bamboo 62" 53#@27.5"
Leon Stewart Deflex/Reflex curly maple, birdseye maple and Osage riser 53#@ 28"
Blacktail 62" longbow takedown 53#/57# B & W ebony
Harvey Crowned Eagle longbow  62"  49#