3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I'm horrible....  (Read 606 times)

Offline Huntingnut

• Trad Bowhunter
I'm horrible....
« on: September 26, 2010, 10:28:00 PM »
Ohio's season is two days old, and I've missed three does, well two if you count cutting hair a hit lol.I lurk on this site all the time, but I seriously need some empathy.I'm a relative rookie at the stick and string thing.I've only killed 2 deer in the last couple years.I'm a good shot out to around 25 yards in my back yard, but I'm really screwing up this season.All my shots are going high.yesterday morning my fletching scraped the back of doe #1 at 23 yards.Didn't pick a spot.Tonight I cut a chunk of hair off the back of doe #2 at 14 yards.Didn't pick a spot.Doe #3 comes by 30 mins. later.Anchor,pick a spot, anchor, pick a spot I tell myself.Anchored fine, release is dang near perfect, heck I'm not even shaking that bad, but the arrow soars a good 6 inches over the back.Didn't pick a spot.Come home and tell the wife I suck and that I have a perfectly good Mathews hanging in the baesment.She says "stick with the recurve".Which I intend on doing.

Just tell me I'm not the only one who has shot over the back of three deer in two days!OK, I'm done.I think...

Offline arrowslinger22

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: I'm horrible....
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2010, 10:32:00 PM »
Not three in two days, but twice in 3 minutes last year.  More concentration on the spot and a few deep breaths before you draw is all I can tell ya.
Only when the last tree has died
and the last river been poisoned
and the last fish been caught
will we realize that we cannot eat money

Offline Huntingnut

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2010, 10:34:00 PM »