3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: My new doug fir shafts ......  (Read 553 times)

Offline LookMomNoSights

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
My new doug fir shafts ......
« on: October 01, 2010, 08:34:00 PM »
Just got a bunch in the mail.   I have never worked with this wood before,  always PO Cedar.  I marked all my knock ends,  then put my taper tool to 2 of them (tru center taper tool).   That tools has done me alot of right so far with the cedar,  but I dont know about this doug fir!  Seems like a gritty,  brittle wood compared to what Im used to.....are most using a woodchuck or similar sanding set up for this wood instead of a taper tool?   I also notice that when I work with Cedar,  I get very uniform knock tapers.   So far Im 2 for 2 with not so uniform with this new wood ....kinda sloppy uneven bevel.   Shafts are AWESOME tho ....talk about straight and beautiful grain!  Im sure everyone knows where they came from!  Ill be buying lots more ....and a sanding set up if I gotta!  What are your thoughts?  :help:    :wavey:

Offline meathead

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: My new doug fir shafts ......
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2010, 08:38:00 PM »
I have the same problem.  Doug fir kind of breaks apart with a tru center.  I use a disk sander to grind my tapers.

Offline Cyclic-Rivers

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 01, 2010, 08:41:00 PM »
I use a sander with mine. I had a pencil sharpener type taper that didnt work at all.  I love Doug Fir.  My only problem now is with the second dozen I received, one shaft had a flaw and broke clean in half.

The only other ones I have broke now have been on hero shots or hitting other arrows in the target.
Relax,

You'll live longer!

Charlie Janssen