3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Looking for advice for my first time out in a tree stand  (Read 276 times)

Offline chinkley

• Trad Bowhunter
Looking for advice for my first time out in a tree stand
« on: October 03, 2010, 12:11:00 AM »
This is my first post so I hope this is an appropriate topic and in the right place. I am heading out for the first time this fall hunting with a 43# wooden recurve. I just started shooting this spring and am shooting groupings of 10 inches or so on level ground at about 10-12 yards. My brother-in-law is setting up a tree stand for me. My problem is I won't have time to practice shooting from the tree stand before actually hunting. The closest I have been able to come is 5 ft up in my kids fort. I am still able to keep the same accuracy as on level ground and I am shooting about 15 yards. Any advice for how I should adjust for shooting from 15 feet up?

Offline bowmaster12

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Looking for advice for my first time out in a tree stand
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2010, 12:20:00 AM »
no adjustment needed just bend at the waist dont drop the bow arm, i would suggest practicing from tree stand hieght before hunting from one until then i would stay on the ground. good luck

Offline magnus

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2010, 07:36:00 AM »
I shoot off of the garage roof to practice elevated shooting. Like bowmaster said bend at the waist not the shoulders. Made that mistake too. Shot high.

Magnus
Keeping the Faith!
Matt
TGMM Family of the bow
 Turkey Flite Traditional  
[email protected]

Offline mscampbell75

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2010, 07:36:00 AM »
Originally posted by bowmaster12: