3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Climber making me nervous  (Read 511 times)

Offline LongBow'erman

• Trad Bowhunter
Climber making me nervous
« on: October 07, 2010, 08:51:00 PM »
Anyone else get this way? I've been hunting for 20 years and just recently I have been getting more nervous while hunting out of a climbing stand. I don't know why, but the other morning I thought about climbing down about an hour after daylight just because I was uneasy, mainly while standing up. I have a Summit and wear a safety harness, but can't shake this feeling. I don't have a problem with ladder stands, just a climber. I still plan on hunting out of my ladder stands when I can, but  I'm seriously thinking about buying a good ground blind for public lands and staying planted on the ground.
What do you guys think about pop up ground blinds?

Offline lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Climber making me nervous
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2010, 08:55:00 PM »
If it's falling you fear then take a waist belt and a piece of rope and tether yourself to the tree along with the harness.Maybe you should do some ground pounding and then get back in the saddle after a month or so.
Some people live an entire lifetime and wonder if they have ever made a
difference in the world, but the Marines don’t have that problem.
—President Ronald Reagan

Offline DeerSpotter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2010, 08:59:00 PM »
I was the same way until I got a Treewalker ,It is a really solid climbing stand.

Although I do have a double bull ,But I do have to say I have been busted in the double bull more times than not ,In public land I have had old geezers walk up to my double bull and say "What are you hunting in there kid " I'm 60 ,What an insult .