3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Who all's on the ground this year?  (Read 869 times)

Offline Covey

• Trad Bowhunter
Who all's on the ground this year?
« on: October 17, 2010, 06:02:00 PM »
Just curious as to how many is trying the ground this season? I've been hunting on the ground for 2 years now without success. I've seen alot of deer with some very close encounters but no luck as of yet. Need some verble help to tuff it out. You guy's that have any input or storys would be a big help! Thanks' Jason

Offline Bud B.

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Who all's on the ground this year?
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 06:08:00 PM »
My first time out I had a doe come to about 15 away. I missed her. String duck. Arrow went just over her shoulder.

Hunt the wind for your setup. Mine is set to have uphill predominant winds in the afternoon. Winds are in my favor. I'm shooting slightly downhill towards the trail.
TGMM Family of the Bow >>>>---------->

"You can learn more about deer hunting with a bow and arrow in a week, than a gun hunter might learn all his life." ----- Fred Bear

Offline David Yukon

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 06:44:00 PM »
Did you read the book from G Fred Asbel, stalking and still hunting.
I realy liked it!
Cheers
Good luck

Online Ken Taylor

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2010, 07:00:00 PM »
As far as big game goes,  where I live I regularly hunt black bears, moose, and caribou exclusively from the ground. I have also hunted a few other species elsewhere from the ground only.

But, although I have successfully hunted whitetail deer from the ground, I enjoy the view and the change so I hunt them most often from a tree stand.