3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Hide Tanning?  (Read 331 times)

Offline lone hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
Hide Tanning?
« on: November 01, 2010, 12:01:00 PM »
I have a moose hide that I want tanned with the hair off. Evidently, all of the tanneries on the west coast are shut down so I will attempt to do it myself.

I know there are some gangers that tan their own hides so was hoping someone could give me advice through-out this process. There was a good post a couple years ago but can't find it now.

Thanks for your help and Good Hunting. Mike

Offline Chris Shelton

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Hide Tanning?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 05:00:00 PM »
I have never done anything that big before, but I have heard that moose, like deer is pretty strait forward.

What do you want to do with the end product? That will dictate what tannin chemicals you need.

I will say this, I have dehaired some hides with the old ashes trick and although it works rather well, do yourself a favor and get a commercial dehairing solution. I wont dehair anything bigger than a squirrel with ashes anymore.

other than that I think it should be pretty easy, just alot of muscle work!!! If you have any more questions, I will do my best to help!
~Chris Shelton
"By failing to prepare you are preparing to fail"~Ben Franklin

Offline lone hunter

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2010, 06:24:00 PM »
Iam thinking about making hunting moccasins out of it. Maybe a quiver that would attatch to my daypack.

I tried the ash method years ago and wasn't too impressed. Never tried chemicals and wouldn't know what/where to buy them.