3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: I knew better!  (Read 590 times)

Offline paleFace

• Tradbowhunter
  • Trad Bowhunter
I knew better!
« on: November 07, 2010, 11:12:00 AM »
There is a silver lining.  How many of you have done this over the years?  

To get ya up to speed I will start with last season.  I was fortunate enough to buy some land 2 years ago and I am just learning the property. Last year I found a spot that just looked like a buck lived there.  After some late winter early spring scouting I decided I needed to hang a stand in this spot come bow season.  

I didn't get a chance to hunt this stand the entire month of October for different reasons, but finally got to sit it the first week of Nov. just prior to the rut. I saw 5 bucks the first morning. I shot the 5th buck that came by. I knew after this hunt that this was going to be one of those spots that just draw the deer year after year. I sat this stand about a half dozen more times and watched the same 4x4 on 3 different occasions. I passed him up at less that 15 yards twice.

Fast forward to this year.  I moved the stand about 20 yards this year to help out with the wind and waited until this past Tuesday to hunt it.  I was late getting in the stand due to helping my youngest son with his first whitetail deer.

It was almost 5pm when I got to the stand.  We call this stand 8 Ball.  I normally hunt this stand in the morning but decided to give it a try since the wind was right and a front had just moved through. I was half way up the tree when I heard a noise behind me and when looked over my shoulder there he was walking straight away from me down an old over grown road bed.