3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: New guy  (Read 338 times)

Offline ALwoodsman

• Trad Bowhunter
New guy
« on: November 30, 2010, 06:51:00 AM »
I am new to traditional archery.  I have been shooting compound bows for about 15 years and just got a longbow a few months ago.  I want to eventually hunt with it but I do not feel that I can shoot well enough yet so I am sticking with my compound for now.  I am having trouble tuning my arrows to my bow. I admit that I don't really know what I am doing.  I tried paper tuning with different point weights and I didn't find alot of difference in the tears.  So far the best I could do was shoot 3 arrows and see which ones grouped the best. I have not bought any broadheads because I hate to spend the money on them and have the wrong weight.  Can someone offer a suggestion.  I'll say thanks in advance because I am sure I will be on here with many more questions.

Offline Tom

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: New guy
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2010, 06:59:00 AM »
Welcome and if you post your questions on the shooters forum you might get more help with tuning issues. Enjoy the journey.
The essence of the hunt for me is to enter nature and observe+ return safely occasionally with the gift of a life taken.

Offline Mudd

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2010, 07:08:00 AM »
Welcome to tradgang!

It's a journey that you have begun but not a race.

I will let those who will do a much better job at answering your question jump in to get you started down the right path.

I think they will need some additional information from you before they can begin.

Stuff like your bows specs, your draw length, ect.ect....

My best advice is be patient with yourself.