3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: As I age, I want to be warm  (Read 762 times)

Offline GMMAT

• Trad Bowhunter
As I age, I want to be warm
« on: December 14, 2010, 07:50:00 AM »
Mods, forgive me if this is in the wrong forum.

I'll admit, I've NOT sat in several AM's this year, because it was cold.  I've got "pretty good" camo.  What I've been putting off, is getting one REALLY GOOD cold weather set.

And, no...it doesn't have to be camo, even.  I have the ASAT 3D leafy suit I could pull over anything.

I've been looking at the Cabela's Outfitter wool.  It's priced right.  But, I have no experience with it.  I'm also considering the Outfitter wool from GWW.  I don't have to question the quality, there.  I have some of Jeff's garments, and they're great.

If you're suggesting wool, can you tell me what you're wearing for layers under it?  

Love to have a toasty pair of gloves to get me TO stand and set up.  I've got a system (thin UA gloves/hot hands/muff) covered, once I'm there.

While we're at it, tell me what you have on your feet, too.

It was 18deg. with winds close to 20mph here, this am.  We're typically more humid than some areas.  My buddy from CO froze his nads off here a couple years ago....lol.

Thanks so much, guys.

Offline centaur

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: As I age, I want to be warm
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2010, 08:04:00 AM »
When it is really cold, I wear Kennetrek pacs with those heat packets, but for me, that is still not enough when it is zero or below. I'm looking into Muck boots for next season; advertised as being warm to 40 below, and my wife has a pair of them and swears by them.
Look into the Cabelas windshear stuff. I have one of their sweaters, and it is very warm and really does stop the wind.