3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: A Case for a Longer Bow  (Read 860 times)

Offline fedora

• Trad Bowhunter
A Case for a Longer Bow
« on: December 19, 2010, 09:52:00 PM »
I recently read the articles by Mr. Asbel in Traditional Bowhunter Magazine on the benefits to longer bows and lower poundage.  I wanted to share my experience with the group here.  I have been shooting a recurve that is 56" 54#@27 inches for a couple years and prided myself on being a pretty good shot after much coaching from this site.  Unfortunetly my back was injured and pulling that weight has become somewhat of an issue.  So, I began looking for a bow in lower poundage.  I even thought about ordering new limbs in a lower poundage for my recurve.  Fortune struck when a trade became available for a 62" recurve at 51#@29".  When I began shooting this bow it was amazing how I could consentrate on form, I gained a half inch in draw length and my accuracy increased considerably.  Additionally, I do not notice the finger pinch or have sore fingers after shooting.  If any of you are experiancing these issues I would suggest you take Mr. Asbel up on his advice. You may be suprised!

Offline rnharris

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: A Case for a Longer Bow
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2010, 10:03:00 PM »
longer is better with fingers guys that have really clean releases don't really notice that much but for the average archer imo longer bows really help with accuracy one of the most accurate bows i have shot to date was a 70" hill bow slow but i stacked arrows with that bow!
TGMM Family of the Bow

Online Ben Maher

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2010, 10:05:00 PM »