3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Thinking seriously about getting into bow hunting... (Newb Thread)  (Read 507 times)

Offline amadeus76

• Trad Bowhunter
My apologies if a similar thread has been posted before...

I have been giving serious thought to getting into bow hunting. Tho I have experience rifle hunting, It's something I have no experience in. This has been something that has been on my mind for about a year or so and I've always dismissed the idea but as it keeps coming back I'm giving in. I don't know why, maybe it's the basic-ness of it all, but I've been drawn to traditional bows and hunting over compound bows. Because I am/will be just starting out I am looking to begin with a relatively inexpensive bow. For this reason I've been looking at PSE as they start around $200 for either the Sequoia or Mustang. Now my question boils down to 2 things...

1) Is PSE a good company to go with for someone just starting out?

2) For someone who is just starting out, what would be better, a longbow or a recurve?

Beyond that anyone who has experience with either the Sequoia or Mustang bows or any other advice for a newb like me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance.

Offline sam barrett

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Thinking seriously about getting into bow hunting... (Newb Thread)
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2010, 10:00:00 PM »