3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Your thoughts on the Bear longbows, Patriot & Montana  (Read 317 times)

Offline eflanders

• Trad Bowhunter
Your thoughts on the Bear longbows, Patriot & Montana
« on: December 30, 2010, 12:00:00 PM »
Folks,

Long story short is that I have a wonderful opportunity to get both the Bear Patriot and the Bear Montana longbows at a very fair price.  Unfortunately I may not get to shoot them before buying them and I have no previous experience with these bows.  I am curious as to what your thoughts are regarding these bows?

Online M60gunner

• Contributing Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Your thoughts on the Bear longbows, Patriot & Montana
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2010, 12:28:00 PM »
I have a Montana that I bought back in '99'. At that time the grips were "blocky" and took a little getting used to for me. The newer bows have a more rounded grip and more comfortable to me. The Patroit looks like the better of the 2 bows to me. My bow is only 50 lbs. but shoots well enough. I am saving it for my "older" age. I will round over the grip when that time comes.

Offline SlowBowinMO

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2010, 01:31:00 PM »
The Montana is a good bow and a great value.  You could hardly go wrong with one, but the Patriot is a much better bow IMO.
"Down-Log Blind at Misty River"

Offline SteveL

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2010, 01:59:00 PM »