3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Quivers...  (Read 884 times)

Offline Daniel F.

• Trad Bowhunter
Quivers...
« on: January 03, 2011, 09:16:00 PM »
I'm very new to archery, particularly traditional.  I have a Martin Mamba, and I'm wanting to get a good quiver for it.  I'm leaning towards a strap on, what is a good brand to get?  

What are some some of the advantages or disadvantages to a bow-mounted quiver vs. a back or hip slung one?  Or is that just personal preference?  

I've really been enjoying all the information to be found here on Tradgang, it's great!  Thanks for making this such clean, friendly atmosphere.  

~Daniel~
"My religious belief teaches me to feel as safe in battle as in bed. God has fixed the time for my death. I do not concern myself about that, but to be always ready, no matter when it may overtake me."
~Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson~

Online Stumpkiller

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Re: Quivers...
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 09:25:00 PM »
Great Northern.

Bow mounted quivers are bulky, add weight and are attention getters to game if you use desireable bright fletching colors.  Some make the bow nosier, while others can deaden a bow's noise a bit.

Advantages are you don't forget the quiver and a follow-up shot is easily available.

(I like side quivers)
Charlie P. }}===]> A.B.C.C.

Bear Kodiak & K. Hunter, D. Palmer Hunter, Ben Pearson Hunter, Wing Presentation II & 4 Red Wing Hunters (LH & 3 RH), Browning Explorer, Cobra II & Wasp, Martin/Howatt Dream Catcher, Root Warrior, Shakespeare Necedah.

Offline Pepper

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 09:30:00 PM »
I don't like a quiver on my bow, I am going to go with the Asbel quiver.
Archery is a family sport, enjoy it with your family.