3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: First arrow purchase  (Read 430 times)

Offline drphoto

• Trad Bowhunter
First arrow purchase
« on: January 04, 2011, 06:04:00 AM »
I am a Newbie waiting for my 40# take down samick to arrive and need help ordering arrows. I've a 27(ish)" draw, thought 125 grain heads would give me a bit of momentum for eventual hunting (3d this summer, out of hunting season in France). The Easton chart recommends 2018's. Reading the posts I could find it appears that you guys (and girls) think the chart is way off for trad archery. How do I find how off-centre cut my samick sht is? I will probably use fluffy Velcro as a rest. I don't have the luxury of a club or other archers near to test drive different weight arrows. I will have to get into fletching too as I am sure there will be alot of fletching damage in the foreseeable months. Is a helical or right or straight on best to start (and continue) with. Would small 2 inch helical blazer vanes be any good for my set up, or should I use longer/4" vanes or feathers  . Can I avoid buying different weight shafts just to experiment as budget is very tight? The thought of having the bow sitting here with no arrows would drive me bonkers, so I need arrows winging their way to me( pun intended) as soon as possible. Many thanks in advance.
Only dead fish go with the flow

Offline Green

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: First arrow purchase
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2011, 06:07:00 AM »
Do a search on here for Stu's Calculator.  Probably the best tool on my bench for taking the guess work out of arrow set up.....saving you money in the process.
ASL's, Selfbows, and Wood Arra's
Just because you are passionate about something, doesn't mean you don't suck at it.

Offline drphoto

• Trad Bowhunter