3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: first traditional bow, what to buy  (Read 478 times)

Offline jjsimon

• Trad Bowhunter
first traditional bow, what to buy
« on: January 05, 2011, 07:56:00 PM »
Hi folks,Im new to the forum and trad archery.i started playing with an old browning recurve my dad gave me and now i dont even want to touch my compound it is so much fun ... but any way its too light and short 44" so i have decided i'm diving in and going tratitional from now on.I need a bow for hunting deer. i will be either in a treeestand or ground blind so i would like it to be 60'or under.what is easier to start with, a long bow or recurve? when i say easy i mean tune,shoot and become proficient with.What about takedowns? is it worth having two sets of limbs? like ones for big game and ones for stumps,fishing, and small game? any and all advice from you guys would be greatly appriciated.

Offline Eric Sprick

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: first traditional bow, what to buy
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 08:47:00 PM »
I'll throw in a few suggestions, first of all welcome.
Regarding your questions I will give you my opinions.

Recurves, in general, are easier for most to learn with.

Takedowns are nice for traveling and having different limbs for different situations, but I just like the flow of one piece bows. Just my opinion.

The best advice I can give you is for sure do not get a bow with too heavy a draw weight.  45# would be a good place to start and second I would highly recommend buying used for your first few bows.  It will give you the opportunity to try different ones and you won't be out a great deal of money.

Hope I helped a little bit.  This is the place to ask.

Good shootin', Eric.

Online lpcjon2

• Trad Bowhunter