3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Crown dipping/painting carbons and aluminum arrows???  (Read 477 times)

Offline DJT

• Trad Bowhunter
Crown dipping/painting carbons and aluminum arrows???
« on: June 04, 2007, 07:41:00 PM »
Guys what is the best way to paint (dip and crest) aluminum and carbon arrows, and what products work the best for each then what adhesieves work on top of these (i.e. what do i have to buy).  Do you laquer the entire shaft afterwords or just the dipped part???  I have done my own woodies and want to see what works the best for these materials.  If you have the time to go into detail on different products ideas or techniques it would be appreciated as I am still pretty new to this, but think it would be a cool way to enhance everythingh about shooting.

I cant wait to hear all your thoughts even the unconventional ones.
thanks
don

Offline Shawn Leonard

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Crown dipping/painting carbons and aluminum arrows???
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2007, 09:08:00 PM »
I have pretty much stopped dipping and cresting all my arrows as the new wraps available our cheap and work and look great. Best of all no muss, no fuss! Custom Wraps Plus has prices that cannot be beat anywhere and they on the Vendors links right here on TG. Ph# (417)732-4424 ask for Mindy or Scott. Shawn
Shawn

Offline Al Dean

• TGMM Member
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2007, 09:22:00 PM »
I dip my alums and carbons in SST solution then dip and crest like my woods with bohning fletch lac products and glue.
TGMM Family of the Bow

Offline Brian Halbleib

• Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #3 on: June 04, 2007, 10:13:00 PM »