3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Ready or Not  (Read 771 times)

Offline jighed

• Trad Bowhunter
Ready or Not
« on: January 11, 2007, 09:50:00 AM »
I am new to archery and have decided, along w/my son, to shoot instinctive. He has a recurve, mine is in the mail. I have been shooting everyday for 3 weeks, split finger out to 20 yards. I can pick the target or spot on the bag and get fairly close to it. But, thats a bag target and I know if I miss my spot no harm done, miss the bag, just go pickup the arrow. Make a bad shot on a deer...
I can tell already that I will have to be very mentally prepared to trust my instincts when the time comes.
How do you know when your instinctive shooting is reliable enough to take a deer?  My plan is to make my first archery season hunt this October.

Offline jighed

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Ready or Not
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2007, 09:58:00 AM »
I know my 3 wks of shooting is minimal compared to most of you who have shooting 10,20,30... years. I know I need A LOT of practice, just letting you know my experience level.

Be careful out there

Online McDave

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2007, 10:19:00 AM »
There's only two things it takes to be a good instinctive archer: good form and lots of shooting at all the distances you plan to hunt.