3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Are these arrows worth getting reflectched?  (Read 257 times)

Offline pergradus

• Trad Bowhunter
Are these arrows worth getting reflectched?
« on: January 24, 2011, 11:17:00 PM »
Hi, I am new to traditional archery... and archery at all for that matter! I recently bought a  50# PSE recurve bow and I think I can see many years ahead of me in this hobby.

I don't think the guy who sold it to me knew a lot about trad because when I asked him what arrows would go well with the bow he sold me some with plastic vanes. I like the feeling of shooting off the shelf, but the bottom vane hits the shelf and kicks the end of the arrow up. In fact if i shoot from too close, the arrows will hit the target and their ends will be sticking up in the air instead of being nice and flat. if i shoot from father away they will straighten themselves out, but I think it is going to be hard to shoot straight with this happening.

So I want to get them refletched with feathers, but before I waste anymore money I figured I'd ask here if they are even a good match for my bow. These are the arrows he sold me:

http://www.carbonexpressarrows.com/cms/content/predator-II  

(the 4560s)

Again, my bow is 50# @ 28, and I have about a 29" draw length from what I can tell. Also, before any other mistakes are made, if I do get them refletched, what kind of feathers should I insist he uses and is there anything else I should be aware of?

Thanks in advance.

Offline Pepper

• Trad Bowhunter
Re: Are these arrows worth getting reflectched?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 12:00:00 AM »
If they are new, and they are spined for your bow, it doesn't cost a tremendous amount to get them re-fletched.