3Rivers Archery

The Trad Gang Digital Market

Contribute to Trad Gang and Access the Classifieds!

Become a Trad Gang Sponsor!

Traditional Archery for Bowhunters

LEFT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS TRAD GANG CLASSIFIEDS ACCESS RIGHT HAND BOWS CLASSIFIEDS

Author Topic: Bamboo,Shmamboo-Its all about Yew !  (Read 514 times)

Offline Steve Clandinin

• TG HALL OF FAME
  • Trad Bowhunter
Bamboo,Shmamboo-Its all about Yew !
« on: February 10, 2011, 09:35:00 AM »
I find it just amazing how just one bow type can create so much interest.Heck that one post is almost at 1000 !I am by no means a longbow expert like so many of you Gurus on here.I've been in this bow shooting game for many years and although like I said I'm no expert ,I have shot them enough to voice some opinions.
Back in 1984 Chek-Mate archery just started making HH style longbows and I guess my wishes were heard as my good wife bought me one that year for Xmas.With a slight upcharge it was 4 lams of yew.When I first started shooting it I couldn't hit a barn from the inside,but thru readings by John Shultz and Howard himself it finally gelled.About the same time a good friend of mine ,who owns a huge Archery Shop in NewWest.BC phoned me to tell me he just got in a brand new HH big 5,68" and 72#,eight pounds more than my Chek-mate Golden hawk.With all the hype I'd heard about Howards bows he sent her out.
I pried that Big 5 from the wrapping ,grabbed a half doz. 650 gr. Cedars and headed to the bales.
I could not believe how this bow shot,I went back inside and got my Yew longbow for comparrison.My Yew L:B totally outshot the HH in every way and was 8 pounds heavier.Same arrows ,same draw,same distances.Both Bows lengths and profiles were identical.
Over the years I've ownned many recurves and longbows with yew cores ,and I know its yew from the first shot,smooth,ultra quiet and forgiving.When I aquired Danny Rowans beautiful Blacktail recurve,it took me back to why I like yew so much.That bow is a joy to shoot.